Step by step to user management! Assign authorisations in our desk sharing tool now.
With this feature, it is now possible for desk.ly users in your organisation to have different access rights. This works by assigning them to permission groups (subsidiary company, department, teams) to get permissions to locations, floors, seating plans and seats. With this step-by-step guide, we will explain in detail which settings you need to make for the desk sharing feature and what to look out for.
Our tip in advance: Read these instructions carefully before you activate and try out the feature!
1. Activate authorisation feature
In the system settings of our desk sharing tool, admins can determine whether permissions can be granted by activating or deactivating the "Permissions" feature. If this is activated, users initially have no permissions. These must be added and applied first. We will show you how to do this in the next steps!
Note: Our videos in this guide are in German, but are available with English subtitles.
2. Define authorisation groups
Admins now have the option of defining authorisation groups for individual users. As can be seen in the following video, a subsidiary company, a department and one or more teams must be added for this purpose. All three fields must be maintained. It is not intended that, for example, only the subsidiary company is stored. New groups can be added simply by entering + ENTER key and those already created can be searched for by entering them in the corresponding field.
Companies with smaller company structures can simply use terms at both department and team level. Unless one has a subsidiary company, the company name can simply be entered again here as well. Here are a number of examples of how it could look in companies:
Company: Sample company GmbH
Subsidiary company: Subsidiary company A
Team: Event Marketing
Company: Sample company GmbH
Subsidiary company: Subsidiary company B
Company: Testing company AG
Subsidiary company: Testing company AG
Department: Testing company AG
Team: Testing company AG
Note: Please pay attention to upper and lower case when maintaining new groups, otherwise groups will be stored multiple times on desk.ly. This may lead to users not being able to access "authorised" locations because the "wrong" (different spelling) user group was added to them. Only one subsidiary company and one department can be entered for a user. However, these can be assigned to several teams, e.g. the person is in the Events and Graphics teams. In the CSV file (import template), these are separated with a "|", e.g. Graphics|Events.
Authorisation groups can also be stored using our import template, which you can find as an admin in the user administration. This saves you time and effort. Simply download the CSV file via the link "Import template", edit it in the tool of your choice and fill in the columns for the authorisation groups. Then you export the file as a CSV file and upload it via the link "Import users". You can find more information in our short explanatory video:
3. Add user groups in the desk sharing settings
In desk.ly, authorised user groups can be added by the admins in various places in the plan administration: At locations, floors, seating plans and/or seats. To do this, select the appropriate location, for example, and now add as many authorisation groups as you like. For each group added, the admin receives a box in which the following settings can be made in the desk sharing software:
- Selection of the company
- Selection of departments
- Selection of teams
- The option "Delete group”
- Add group
In this box, authorisations for your desk sharing can be added by assigning user groups (via subsidiary companies, departments and teams). Several teams can be added to a department in one step. If you want to give several departments access to, for example, a location, simply add further authorised user groups to this via "Add group".
The same applies to floors and seating plans. Authorised user groups can also be added here. If permissions for desk sharing have already been stored at a location, they are passed on. This only changes when new authorisation groups are added to the floor or seating plan. Furthermore, these authorisations can also be created at individual workplaces and individual authorised users can be added. It is important to note that these persons must also be activated for the location in order to be able to book the seat. You can see what this looks like in our explanatory video:
If the feature is deactivated for some reason, the permission groups no longer apply and all users can see everything. If the feature is reactivated, the previously stored permissions are restored.
Best practices for desk sharing
- Activate the new feature. Download the import template and edit it. When creating the subsidiary companies, departments and teams, be sure to pay attention to upper and lower case!
- Our tip: You can filter the individual columns of the table to display all employees in a subsidiary company, for example.
- It is best to start by adding all relevant permission groups to the desk sharing application at the locations, floors, seating plans and seats. Once you have done this, no bookings can be made for a short time. It is therefore best to inform all colleagues beforehand.
- Then upload the revised import template. All permissions are effective now.
- Permissions are not working as they should? Switch to the view of a user in the impersonate mode (admin area -> user administration) to better understand where an error may be occurring. The short video shows you how to do this:
- You still need help and get figure out what the problem is? Then deactivate the feature! The authorisation groups already added will remain in the background. Then contact our support. We will be happy to help you!